Midnight music

After a long day of kids driving me nuts and being confused about what to do next in life, I discovered the secret to happiness last night. Make a bunch of chocolate chip cookies at midnight, eat as many as you can, then play the guitar until 1:30am. There’s something about playing music in the middle of the night that always makes me feel better. I used to do it with the piano when I was in high school. I know it bothered my parents when they were trying to sleep, but they let me do it anyway. I was able to learn some of the hardest parts of my contest pieces because I was more creative at midnight than any other time of the day. Luckily I have a digital piano now so I can use headphones at night. And the guitar is pretty quiet and portable, so that makes it good for late night practicing. I’ve also determined that midnight music is a whole lot more rewarding than midnight shopping.

2 Responses to “Midnight music”


  1. 1 Alina April 27, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    The cookies sound delicious!!! When I am restless I like to read mindless romance novels. They settle me! But maybe I’ll try the cookies.

  2. 2 underthebigbluesky May 6, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    chocolate chip cookies are a known lifesaver, add that to music and well i cannot imagine what would be better.

    i have to not bake them that often though, since my willpower erodes completely when they are in the house.


Leave a Reply

